Love Me, Love My Book Recommendations

“Love is a fire, but whether it’s going to warm your hearth or burn down the house you can never tell.”

– Joan Crawford

Yeah, I’m not going to be doing a whole lot of long rambling or frequent posting on this site for the next – well, forever maybe?  But, I do seem to come up with ideas every month or so that seem more like something you’d post on a longer-form blog than a Tumblr or Twitter.  So, maybe I’ll actually be able to keep up with this site going forward?  I think so.

Anyway, for this month, I’m taking St. Valentine’s Day as an excuse to go ahead and post some book recommendations – one of my favorite things to do!

It’s been said that all stories are love stories, and I want to build off that to explore the different types of love stories out there and the different types of love they explore.  Many of these books are much more than just a love story (depictions of class relations, religion, history, popular culture, loneliness, crime, the apocalypse, art, and horror).  However, they all incorporate one – tragic or not.  We’ll start tomorrow, and because I had too many ideas, I’ll probably go until after Valentine’s Day itself.  Good books have no expiration date, so indulge me!

****

ALSO: I do promise I will sit down some time this week and experiment with scanning/posting the few (4!) handwritten poems I’ve managed to sit down and do.  We have a scanner at work, but I can’t promise it won’t put out terrible-looking results.  If it ends up looking janky, I may not end up posting them at all… but hopefully before the end of the year I can find a good solution.

Leave a Reply

