The Glories of Fall: One

Fall is my favorite season, so I’m going to indulge in some posts about it for the next couple of months.

I forgot, in the summer months, just how good tea feels, not only in the throat and stomach, but in the brain.  Coffee – especially iced coffee, which I’m devoted to – is satisfying on a very quick and dirty level: you get a jolt to the skull and gut, it’s earthy and refreshing.  I’ve way cut down my consumption in the last couple of years, but I’ll never quit coffee all together.

But tea. Tea. I feel roughly the same way about tea as I feel about wine.  If coffee and beer go to your body, which is does for me, then tea and wine go to your head.  I’m more in touch with my mind than my body, though they arguably need the same amount of regular soothing, so I can’t say I mind when the weather starts to get cold (mid-40s in Somerville during rush hour this morning) and I switch from cold drinks to warm.

Here’s what I’m drinking right now:

1. Organic decaf green tea with lemon & ginger + a little honey (just a local grocery store chain’s brand)

2. Bigelow Green Tea Chai

3. Zhena’s Gypsy Tea Chai Sampler: Hazelnut, Chocolate, Caramel, and

Also, if you’re in the mood for a snack with your tea, I made these recently for a friend’s birthday.  They’re stellar!

 

PS. I’ve got one more Sherlock post in my, about The Hounds of Baskerville. The recent addition of the second series to Netflix instant will mean this probably happens sooner rather than later, but as I’ve been working on some horribly intractable poetry lately, it still might be another weak before I can sit down to have a rewatch and organize my thoughts.  I will say, spoilers, that it’s my favorite episode of both series thus far.

Leave a Reply

