What’s Goin’ On

List Time – GO!

1. I went to New York City 2 weeks back, and I think I’m in love with Brooklyn now.  It really reminded me of Cambridge/Somerville with the mix of ethnic backgrounds, tax brackets, restaurants/bars, trees, parks, and just general vibe. If I was going to move to New York, I’d move there in a hot minute.

2. Related – I got to meet one of my favorite bloggers, Amber from The Amber Show! We had brunch at Dizzy’s, I got to meet her wiggly, adorable dogs, and she took my picture.  A picture that actually looks good, see?   This woman knows how to treat a random internet visitor right, y’all.

3. I’ve seen The Avengers twice since it came out. I think I have a problem.  I know what I’m getting for Christmas.

4. Books books books books. Check out my reading list, yo, it’s been updated a couple times.  Pick up the Hyperion series, by Dan Simmons, by the way.

5. All systems are just about go for new apartment launch.  I don’t want to say much more, since the details are just nitty gritty and boring, but it’s been a full-time job the last two weeks trying to get all those little loose ends tied up.  But, I can’t wait to get into the new place, get all my furniture placed, sleep on my new bed, and take some pictures.  I moved around so much when I was a kid, and, hell, since I’ve been an adult, that it always feels good to make even a move down the block.  I’m going to be bunking with some old old friends, and am so excited.  I’d move tomorrow, if I could.

6. Last week I had a terrible migraine and had to miss a concert I’d really been looking forward to.  Still pretty bummed about that, but grateful that I have a body that can unequivocally let me know when I’ve been pushing it just a bit too far.  Plus, I got to grill the day after, so it evened out.

7. It’s finally summer, which means deck, hookah, grilling, and outdoor drinking time. I really do love New England fall, but after the uneventful winter and spring, I’m looking forward to getting some sun on my skin and cool night air in my lungs.  As I get older, I appreciate Boston summers more and more.  I say, this, of course, as I’m hiding in my living room typing on my computer in the middle of a 90 degree day, but with a true appreciation of the irony of this situation and with plans to go for a walk and help some friends move boxes into their new apartment in about an hour.

8. Now, y’all know I’m a nerd. Y’all know I watch super hero movies, read fantasy novels, play video games, and can talk about my obsessions (Sherlock Holmes, book conservation, organization, Star Trek, Haruki Murakami, etc.) until you want to commit sepuku. I’ve been to Pax, I play board games, and want desperately for everyone else to do the same.  But, BUT, up until now, I’ve avoided D & D.  I mean, how cliched can you get? Apparently, I can get just cliched enough, because now I have a character, a party to play with, my own set of dice, and a bi-weekly appointment to roll them. And damn if I’m not excited about it.  I am going to girl it up a bit by bringing cookies for the first session though.  I’ll let you know how it goes!  I’m already having some Feelings about girls and this sort of game and how good a thing it can be to participate in something like this.

9. I ate some insanely cheap, insanely delicious Chinese food in Chinatown last night. If anyone comes to Boston, I’m going to be hard pressed to not drag them to either Xinh Xinh or this spot, Hong Kong Eatery.  Or Cambridge Common.  Ok, or a million other places.  But, more even than the food, the plates they served the food on were beautiful, and made me want to own some well worn Asian china.

10. Go outside! Yes, you! Me too, bye bye!

Leave a Reply

